Clarksville, Tennessee, was a pivotal center of the Southern Renaissance of the 1920s and '30s. Writers of the era living in Clarksville included Robert Penn Warren, Evelyn Scott, Caroline Gordon and Allen Tate. Additional writers, including Cleanth Brooks, Ford Madox Ford, Donald Davidson, Katherine Ann Porter, Robert Lowell, Andrew Lytle, Malcolm Cowley, Frances and Brainard Cheney and others gathered to write and discuss their work at "Benfolly," Tate and Gordon's home overlooking the banks of the Cumberland River. Their Clarksville home became a Mecca for writers of the Southern Renaissance, and from that site poured literature which enriched the American scene. In that great tradition, we offer you the Fourteenth Annual Clarksville Writers Conference.


The Clarksville-Montgomery County Arts & Heritage Development Council, in partnership with Austin Peay State University and the Tennessee Arts Commission, is pleased to present the Fourteenth Annual Clarksville Writers Conference, June 1 - 2, 2018.

Join us for this fun, affordable, and talent-laden conference featuring two days of writing workshops and presentations, a keynote banquet with the authors, manuscript consultations and more! This year we are honored to host:

  • Michel Stone - writer, speaker, educator, author of critically acclaimed novels Border Child and The Iguana Tree and recipient of the Fourth Annual "Patricia Winn Award for Southern Literature"
  • Sharon Cameron - New York Times best-selling author of young adult novels The Dark Unwinding, A Spark Unseen, Rook, The Forgetting and The Knowing
  • Penny Lewis - "Georgia Author of the Year" nominated novelist of Bearing Crosses, Microwave is Dead and the forthcoming Dear Crabigail
  • Bren McClain - critically acclaimed novelist of One Good Mama Bone, published by Pat Conroy's Story River Books, and the forthcoming Took, winner of the 2016 William Faulkner-William Wisdom prize for Novel-in-Progress
  • Stephanie Pruitt - poet, artist business coach and TED speaker, named one of Essence Magazine's "40 Favorite Poets"
  • Ken Sherman - literary agent with Los Angeles-based Ken Sherman & Associates
  • J.M. White - director and editor of The William Gay Archive, preparing for print lost manuscripts of the Southern Gothic novelist, including Little Sister Death and the forthcoming The Lost Country and Stoneburner
  • Jeff Zentner - songwriter and author of New York Times Notable Book The Serpent King, Goodbye Days and the forthcoming Rayne & Delilah's Midnite Matinee