Clarksville, Tennessee, was a pivotal center of the Southern Renaissance of the 1920s and '30s. Writers of the era living in Clarksville included Robert Penn Warren, Evelyn Scott, Caroline Gordon and Allen Tate. Additional writers, including Cleanth Brooks, Ford Madox Ford, Donald Davidson, Katherine Ann Porter, Robert Lowell, Andrew Lytle, Malcolm Cowley, Frances and Brainard Cheney and others gathered to write and discuss their work at "Benfolly," Tate and Gordon's home overlooking the banks of the Cumberland River. Their Clarksville home became a Mecca for writers of the Southern Renaissance, and from that site poured literature which enriched the American scene. In that great tradition, we offer you the Twelfth Annual Clarksville Writers Conference.


Developed by Patricia Winn in 2005, the Clarksville Writers Conference is presented by the Clarksville Arts & Heritage Development Council, in partnership with Austin Peay State University and the Tennessee Arts Commission.

  • Ellen Kanervo, Conference Chair
  • James Moore, Banquet Chair
  • Katie Kennedy, Registrar
  • Pam Boyd, Conference Committee Member
  • Judy Castleberry, Conference Committee Member
  • Taylor Emery, Conference Committee Member
  • Pam Gray, Conference Committee Member
  • Linda Nichols, Conference Committee Member
  • Sissy Rankin, Conference Committee Member
  • Ellen Taylor, Conference Committee Member
  • Susan Wallace, Conference Committee Member
  • Mary Nell Wooten, Conference Committee Member

Conference Workshops and Presentations

Valuable to writers and interesting to readers, our conference offers something for everyone. Sixteen writing workshops and presentations will be held on Thursday, June 2, and Friday, June 3, at Austin Peay State University's Morgan University Center. A plate luncheon with dessert, tea and coffee will be served each day in the conference wing's ballroom, with refreshments available throughout the day. Book signing will be set up in the conference lounge.

Manuscript consultations with literary agent Ken Sherman are available free of charge to anyone attending the conference presentations and workshops on June 2 and/or June 3. Appointments may be made on a first-come, first-served basis at the time of registration.

Keynote Banquet with the Authors

Enjoy a social event with your favorite authors in a beautiful setting with fine food. A banquet featuring keynote speaker Jim Squires will be held the evening of Thursday, June 2, at Club Level of Austin Peay State University's Fortera Stadium, featuring a gorgeous view of this historic campus. Authors will be on hand to sign books during our "Meet the Authors" reception at 5:30pm. Dinner is at 6:00pm.


The Clarksville Writers Conference is made possible in part through the generous support of the following:

Additional funding support has been provided by:

  • Dee Boaz
  • Ned and Jacqueline Crouch
  • Dave and Jennie Beth Johnston
  • Joan and Durward Harris
  • Rafael Prieto and Jacquelyn Branham
  • Sue Culverhouse